Election of Student President

16 Apr 2018

The Student Guild is delighted to announce the election of Accounting and Financial Management student Funke Alagbala (centre) as Student President for the academic year 2018/19. 

Welcoming students and staff to the announcement ceremony, LSBM Managing Director and Academic Principal John Fairhurst (right) paid tribute to the student body for the commitment they have shown to the governance of the organisation.

“Here at LSBM,” he said, “the student voice is central to everything we do and I want to thank all those who have taken part in this election for the contribution they have made to the health and vitality of our academic community.”

Speaking after her election, Funke thanked the student body for the interest they had taken in the process and expressed her desire to build on the accomplishments the Guild has made.

“We have just celebrated our first birthday as the Guild and who could have thought so much would have been accomplished in such a short space of time. Our system of representation is vibrant and thriving throughout LSBM and we play an important role in the planning and delivery of services to the student population.  As we go further down the road of LSBM’s Taught Degree Awarding Powers application, it is more important than ever to ensure the student voice is at the heart of that process and that we leave a legacy for those who will come after us, just as earlier student leaders left to us.”

Outgoing Student President Delon Jones (left) congratulated Funke and thanked the other two candidates in the election, Georgios Diamantopoulos and Georgiana Ursachescu for enhancing the democratic process by taking part. 

“It’s really important for the health of the student body that students are given a choice in who will lead them.  All three candidates have remarkable talents and would have made fantastic Student Presidents.  In the end, Funke was elected with a very strong mandate, 68% of the vote, and we are all delighted, not to mention lucky, to have someone of this calibre lead us."

Funke will now spend a number of months preparing for her year in office by shadowing current President Delon Jones and working with the Guild management and leadership team.

Other positions filled during this election season include leadership of the student societies, as follows:

  • Accounting Society                   Constance Boakye
  • Law Society                              Maria Steadman Greyson
  • Business Society                      Traney Gibson
  • Football Society                        Calin Dimitru
  • Student Trustee                         Delon Jones
  • Officer Trustee                          Abir Nassar

You can learn more about the LSBM Student Guild here.


Stuart Brown
Media and Content Manager

Partners and Accreditations

Get In Touch

  • London School of Business and Management
  • 1 Malet Street, London, WC1E 7JN.